Map Sensors

Reply to topic
    Reply with quote

HRTuning Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:18 pm

Of course. That means you're pulling a lot of vacuum, not that you have no air in the cylinders. You're pulling most of what's in the manifold into the cylinder. You can adjust the throttle screw or IACV to allow more air in. You can always put a stock sensor back on to compare.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

blackeg Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:12 pm

Evans Performance wrote:Is it possible to idle with that much vacuum? I have never seen anything idle with more than 20inhg.


its definately possible, my car idles at 23-24" depending on how many accessories i have on


silly map sensor question here:

can i take a tune that i did on a stock map sensor and just enter new scalar and offset of a new map sensor and be good to go?

blackeg

 
Posts: 27
Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Location: new york
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

hiprofile Fri May 25, 2012 4:05 am

If both sensors were very linear and had temp correction, sure. Going to/from a GM sensor will require a bunch of touch-up.

I know going from stock to freescale sensors requires nearly zero touch-up. I sell them fitted into stock cases and there's no retuning required...if the parameters are entered correct and column headings don't change.

hiprofile

 
Posts: 10
Joined: 19 May 2012
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

tkymik Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:53 am

how about the omnipower 2.5 bar map scalar & offset?

_________________
I'm a noob kindly bear with me..

tkymik

 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Aug 2012
Location: Philippines
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:08 am

It's quoted as being the same as the motorola. I have no experience with it personally.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

tkymik Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:12 pm

okay thanks.. maybe i'll get the omni 3 bar to be sure.

_________________
I'm a noob kindly bear with me..

tkymik

 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Aug 2012
Location: Philippines
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:05 pm

You can easily verify by checking what it says with key on engine off. If it's very close to atmospheric it's likely the correct settings.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

norcal3737 Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:49 am

Anyone have info on the Auberin's 4 bar sensor? Through research online, I got brought to this website, so don't mind the new guy Very Happy
link: http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=150

Output Voltage 0.25 to 4.85 VDC at 5VDC excitation
Sensor Operating Characteristics:
Range
0.4 bar to 4.0 bar

Absolute
Pressure
(Bar)
Output (V)
25C
0.0 0.250
1.0 1.400
1.5 1.975
2.0 2.550
2.5 3.125
3.0 3.700
3.5 4.275
4.0 4.850


.4bar = 400mbar = .25V
4bar = 4000mbar = 4.85V

782.608 and 204.348 sound right?

if in kPa...
78.26 and +20.43?

When using the method on Hondata's help page, I get 88.045 -22.045?

norcal3737

 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Location: CA
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Fri Sep 28, 2012 5:46 am

norcal3737 wrote:I get 88.045 -22.045?


Convert to mBar, *10, and you're good.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

norcal3737 Fri Sep 28, 2012 8:29 pm

Hmm.. Did that, and my Baro reads at 12.97.

There seems to be conflicting info on Auberin's website.
One page http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=150 gives this info:
Output Voltage 0.62 to 4.81 VDC at 5VDC excitation
Pressure Range 0.1 to 4.0 bar (or, 5.8 to 58PSI) absolute --- .1BAR doesn not equal 5.8psi, so there is an error there.


Then their manual page (which is the info I used
gives this:
Output Voltage 0.25 to 4.85 VDC at 5VDC excitation
Range
0.4 bar to 4.0 bar

.62 - 4.81
.1bar = 100mbar
4bar = 4000mbar
results in:
scalar: 930.787
offset: -477.088

If using .4bar = 400mbar and the V range .62 - 4.81 then
scalar: 859.19
offset: -132.70

norcal3737

 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Location: CA
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Fri Sep 28, 2012 8:59 pm

I don't understand your Baro reading, or what that has to do with anything.

In any event, from what you've posted, what I quoted in my last post is correct information, except you need to enter it in mBar, not kPa. So *10... 880, -220.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Mouab18c1 Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:11 pm

So did anyone ever figure out the settings for a SpeedFactory 4 bar map sensor?

Mouab18c1

 
Posts: 94
Joined: 30 Apr 2010
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

RayRay Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:51 am

Hi guys . I have a slight problem figured someone will know the answer. I have a 91 civic hatch w/ a b16 a engine i juat installed my neptune equipped ecu and got the car running but my map sensor readings are off . Im converted obd 1 but am still running the obd0 map sensor .i hear they are only slightly different. But not sure if it will effect it the way it shows .at idle my car is at the high end of the fuel table( top right corner instead of top left corner) basically my question is .will the obd0 map throw the ecu off that bad that it runs on the wrong side of the fuel table..or not and possibly my wiring which i will double check as soon as i have time..ty any help is greatly appreciated

RayRay

 
Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Dec 2013
Location: Philadelphia
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Tue Dec 17, 2013 2:40 am

If it's not exactly the same as the OBD1 sensor then it won't run the same with those settings. Find the offset and scalar to use the custom option and do it right.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

RayRay Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:17 am

Ok ty hrtuning appreciate the response..if i have any more questions ill make sure to post thanks again!

RayRay

 
Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Dec 2013
Location: Philadelphia
    Send private message View user's profile


Reply to topic

NepTune RTP Software

 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum