Tuning an Automatic

Reply to topic
    Reply with quote

Tuning an Automatic

Honda1313 Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:33 pm

Hi. I'm new here..
I have a 95 Accord EX Automatic.. I am putting on a Drag turbo kit. Can I tune my car using neptune EM... I have searched and read that Neptune is capable of tuning automatics.. Could someone give me an answer..

thanks,
Kyle

Honda1313

 
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Location: Utah
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:19 pm

I'm not sure this will work, it hasn't been attemtped. The Accords have an external transmission computer that may not work with a Civic/Integra ECU.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10424
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Honda1313 Thu Apr 27, 2006 10:38 pm

The Accords have an external transmission computer that may not work with a Civic/Integra ECU.

huh.. you lost me I'm a noob.. can you define this a bit more

Honda1313

 
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Location: Utah
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:59 am

They have a separate unit to control the transmission which may not work with a civic or integra ECU.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10424
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Honda1313 Fri Apr 28, 2006 3:30 am

ooh ok.. Have you heard of anyone tuning an automatic..
if it's not possible. then i will wait till the auto goes out. swap a 5spd in put some bigger injectors in. then I could run neptune right.
if anyone knows a way to tune the auto please let me know..

Honda1313

 
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Location: Utah
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Fri Apr 28, 2006 5:11 pm

Automatic civics or integras, yes. You have to use a civic or integra ECU to get tuned with this.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10424
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Honda1313 Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:27 am

so how hard is it to use the civic/integra ecu in my car..

Honda1313

 
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Location: Utah
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Sat Apr 29, 2006 2:32 am

They plug right in, you just have to switch pins A6 and A11.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10424
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Honda1313 Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:22 am

can you describe in detail what I would have to do exactly??
like wiring, parts needed ect, what to do..
thanks for the help

Honda1313

 
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Location: Utah
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:41 am

Switch the pins at A6 and A11 (Find an OBD1 pinout diagram - Google for instance) and then plug the ECU in.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10424
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Honda1313 Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:00 pm

and by switching those pins the civic/integra ecu will control the air/fuel and the accord ECU will control the TCU (TRANNY CONTROL UNIT).. and thats all I have to do..? umm what ECU should I use?suggest one

Honda1313

 
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Location: Utah
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Sun Apr 30, 2006 3:06 am

No, by switching those pins you can use a civic/integra ecu, which you'll need to use NepTune. I already stated that it probably won't work with your transmission computer. If you're staying auto you more than likely can't use this.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10424
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

tallh22a Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:44 pm

There is a way. Check out this link for details. It involves using a P75 automatic ECU. Although the article also details how to build an OBD2 to OBD1 automatic conversion harness, you can ignore that part because you are already OBD1. Just concentrate on the part about using the P75 auto ECU. Here's the link:

http://forum.pgmfi.org/viewtopic.php?t=6934&highlight=

If you complete the hardware instructions, I believe a Neptuner could provide the tune.

Good luck!

tallh22a

 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Location: Murrayville, GA (60 miles NE of Atlanta)
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

skaterdudz02 Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:07 am

Well here's an update for all of you.

I have a 94 Accord EX auto that is base tuned on Neptune. I have done all the base tuning myself (street tuned) and I just wanted to say that it works.

Granted you are right tallh22a, a P75 chipped will work with the autos, but so will a P28 off of a Civic. I will confirm it if you want a vid or something. That's what I'm using. Actually it's a P06 converted to P28. Car runs, boosts, and shifts like it normally did, if not better. Before when I had the FMU unit, it would slip from gear to gear under low boost 2-3lbs when it was on the cold side, ECT around 140F. You also couldn't feel a shift, it felt like the transmission was like a CVT. LOL bad example but best way to describe it.

Now, you can feel the shift, even in boost. I feel IMO the car runs better and plus it's base tuned, so it's not running too bad. The ONLY downside I see as this moment is a D4 blinking light, and if you want, I will pull the codes and check it out, if you'd like just so I can be 100 percent certain about all of it.

Btw, thanks for the help hrtuning on using the P72 basemap for the accord. VTEC kicks in, but I still get a CEL at 3K for some reason. I'm going to look more into it tomorrow.

skaterdudz02

 
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:44 am

No problem. I hope you figure that out!

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10424
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address


Reply to topic

NepTune Chip Based Questions/Comments

 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum