New ECU with Neptune

Reply to topic
    Reply with quote

New ECU with Neptune

Txdragon Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:07 pm

Been a while since I've needed assistance but, here we go!! Ok so, I've been running a P06 VTEC converted ECU with Neptune. The ECU has gone bad so I had to order another. I ordered a P28 and wondering if I may have to change that in the Neptune software; P06 to P28, or if it really matters since there is a tune already on it. I **think** it would only matter for base map loading, not sure. Maybe options to disable like Knock sensor, etc? Anyhow, does it make a difference?
Thanks!

Txdragon

 
Posts: 79
Joined: 08 Mar 2017
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:26 pm

Not at all, that just enables certain options in the basemap which you can manually do as needed!

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Txdragon Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:43 pm

Thanks much!

Txdragon

 
Posts: 79
Joined: 08 Mar 2017
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:44 pm

No problem

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Txdragon Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:25 pm

Have replaced the ECU and the trouble I had is no more! What I DO have is a really rich AFR across the map now. I have narrowed 2 possible reasons why but, I'm no expert.. Reason 1 is that the P06 was having some voltage issues I was fighting against to seal the tune, or 2, there is a notable difference between the P06 and P28 that mattered after the fact of replacement. Hoping to drum up some kind of explanation on this, my next request would go to HAmotorsports.

Txdragon

 
Posts: 79
Joined: 08 Mar 2017
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:45 pm

1 is very likely! You may be able to just use the overall fuel trim if it was a voltage issue. It should equate to a percentage that works across the board.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Txdragon Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:03 pm

HRTuning wrote:1 is very likely! You may be able to just use the overall fuel trim if it was a voltage issue. It should equate to a percentage that works across the board.

Thanks for the input. I believe what caused the whole frackus was a dead cell in my battery. It was reading positive voltage from ground. I chased this freaking rabbit for 3 weeks trying to find what I thought was a bare wire touching chassis.. Sigh.. This, in turn, I feel frizzled the ECU, prompting replacement.

Had to recalibrate Neptune and my WBO2; offsets needed adjustment. Got them near on par again, +/- .3 difference.

Only big headache right now that I feel is tune related is my idle AFR. Goes lean occasionally then levels out, rinse and repeat. After operating temps, it fluctuates less aggressively.

Txdragon

 
Posts: 79
Joined: 08 Mar 2017
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:34 pm

You can see in map trace if it's stable in an area or moving around due to fluctuations.

If it's in closed loop swinging change the temperature for CL operation.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

Txdragon Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:24 pm

HRTuning wrote:You can see in map trace if it's stable in an area or moving around due to fluctuations.

If it's in closed loop swinging change the temperature for CL operation.


It's in open loop. Odd part is this tune was set for about a year. I thought maybe injector dead times (due to voltage fluctuations) and whatnot but... Something to do with that maybe? I dunno. Still have to OHM them out to see if they're within spec. If for any reason my injectors decided to go fun up, they're still replaceable under warranty.

Txdragon

 
Posts: 79
Joined: 08 Mar 2017
    Send private message View user's profile

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:31 pm

That could definitely be part of it.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address


Reply to topic

NepTune RTP Software

 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum