Selling ECU w/ Neptune (not RTP).. Can it be returned to sto

Reply to topic
    Reply with quote

Selling ECU w/ Neptune (not RTP).. Can it be returned to sto

XpL0d3r Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:05 pm

Let me just preface this by saying anything relating to tuning and chipping, I had done professionally by a tuner who is now out of business, so I can no longer contact to ask them...

I no longer have my boost setup, so I've been parting it all out. I have a buyer interested in the ECU (P06 but for a B18 motor), but he needs just the ECU, no tune or chip, etc, to use with a stock B18 engine. Can I (or he) remove the chip and revert this ECU back to stock? It does NOT have RTP, it's just standalone Neptune.

Thanks

XpL0d3r

 
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Location: MA
    Send private message View user's profile AIM Address

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:33 pm

You can remove the chip before you sell it to him if it sits in a socket. He'd just need to put a new chip, or tunable hardware, in the spot that the chip is now.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

XpL0d3r Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:43 pm

Thanks for the quick reply! Here's a picture of the ECU:


I'm guessing the chip needed to be removed is the one branded SST in the bottom right corner? If he wants to revert back to stock, what type of chip would he be replacing this one with? I'd like to make this plug and play for the buyer, if possible.

Thanks

XpL0d3r

 
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Location: MA
    Send private message View user's profile AIM Address

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:44 pm

Yes, the SST chip.

That will be up to him based on what engine management he wants to go with.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

XpL0d3r Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:46 pm

He doesn't need any engine management as he will be using this with a stock LS motor. If I just pull the chip and do nothing else, will he be able to use it with a stock setup?

Thanks again

XpL0d3r

 
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Location: MA
    Send private message View user's profile AIM Address

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:12 pm

He does, actually, because a P06 is for a D15B7 and won't run an LS properly in stock form. You can cut jumper J1 to put the ECU back to stock. Just above the chip.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address

    Reply with quote

XpL0d3r Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:43 pm

Awesome.. this is just the information I needed. Thanks again for your help!

XpL0d3r

 
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Location: MA
    Send private message View user's profile AIM Address

    Reply with quote

HRTuning Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:56 am

No problem.

_________________
Like us on Facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/NepTuneEngineManagement

HRTuning

 
Posts: 10385
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
    Send private message View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address


Reply to topic

General Questions

 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum